Was I "that guy"?

U

Unregistered

Hi all. Just trying to wrap my mind around a situation I encountered last week that just keeps bothering me. I'm still a student waiting for my checkride. Last week I decided to take a short 30 min cross country flight to meet my soon to be examiner, basically just to do something different. I announced at 8 miles that I was inbound and listened for any traffic in the area and to determine if any specific runway was being used (uncontrolled by the way). Based on radio calls, one plane was in the pattern. I am very good at visualization and can create a quick mental map of where everybody should be based on radio calls. At about 5 miles, I announced that I would cross mid field at TPA +500 and circle back to 45 degree left pattern entry on the runway being used by the other traffic. I announced my intentions again at 2 miles. The other traffic was taxiing back to the runway and about 500 feet from the hold short line. As I approached mid field, I confirmed the wind sock and runway, announced my intentions again and saw the plane approaching the hold short line. As I passed mid field, I heard the other traffic announce takeoff intentions, but do not remember if he announced staying in pattern. As I turned back towards the airport and began the 45 degree entry, I announced my intentions again.