Turning into the wind for runup

To keep the cylinders as cool as possible.

I didn’t say I thought it would make much difference, but 100 mph from the prop + 5 from the wind is 105 vs 95 if you do it the other way.

It also keeps you from blasting the plane following you on the taxiway

Fair enough. I ask this because the F33 has a bigger turning radius than the 172 I used to fly, so there have been times I have gotten to the end of the taxiway, and felt there wasn't enough room to turn 180* into the wind.

I'm comfortable enough doing the runup while taxiing to the runway, so this may be a moot point, but thought the peanut gallery would appreciate some fodder while our wives are out shopping on Black Friday.

My mooney gets real hot in summer on the ground. I try to keep her into the wind as much as possible. The light sport I fly doesn’t get that hot on the ground so I don’t worry so much about it.

I'm not an engineer, but why is a few degrees of cooling the cylinders so important during that phase? Aren't they about to be a lot hotter after takeoff anyway? And most of the time around run-up I'm trying to bring up the oil temperature, which of course is heated via cylinder temperature.

This is mostly an OWT that has been handed down for generations. In the case of strong winds and a light tailwheel airplane, there could be operational reasons to turn into the wind, but keeping the engine cool isn't one of them. A few extra knots of wind isn't going to make any difference.

In my opinion, first consideration should be who you're blasting behind you. Second, whether or not you have a clear view of the final approach.

This is mostly an OWT that has been handed down for generations. In the case of strong winds and a light tailwheel airplane, there could be operational reasons to turn into the wind, but keeping the engine cool isn't one of them. A few extra knots of wind isn't going to make any difference.