The Garmin Rumor... Now Confirmed

Those who jumped on the GDL88 bandwagon are not too happy I would think ...

yup....this is just the beginning. I expect a few more new boxes to be revealed soon.

Those of us who waited.....will be rewarded.:yes:

Count me in as one who will wait till the last minute to equip. I have no real need to fly in airspace that ADS-B is required in so I will just wait till all the madness has calmed down.

Those who jumped on the GDL88 bandwagon are not too happy I would think ...

Yea, it stings a little, but I have been flying with it for two years so what's that worth? I've enjoyed having it in the system.

My next plane I will def consider this box though. Sounds like an all in one solution for sure.

Finally! That means I won't need an additional box AND another antenna on the bottom. :D

The GTX 345 transponder provides ADS-B In/Out capabilities and is available with and without WAAS for a list price of $5,795 and $4,995.

This is what I paid for GDL88 unit. I have a 530W
GDL 88 $3445
Garmin credit -$200
Garmin rebate -$250
My cost $2995

The variable cost will be the installation. I had recently installed a Garmin 327 and to upgrade to the 330 would also need to change the tray, it's not a slide in replacement. I'm curious to see if this will be a slide in for the 330.

The GTX 345 transponder provides ADS-B In/Out capabilities and is available with and without WAAS for a list price of $5,795 and $4,995.

This is what I paid for GDL88 unit. I have a 530W
GDL 88 $3445
Garmin credit -$200
Garmin rebate -$250
My cost $2995

The variable cost will be the installation. I had recently installed a Garmin 327 and to upgrade to the 330 would also need to change the tray, it's not a slide in replacement. I'm curious to see if this will be a slide in for the 330.

The GDL88 uses a 4 wire Ethernet to communicate with the GTN series. The 330 is RS232 only.