Solo XC CFI Requirements

ripnet

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
ripnet
Hello,

My CFI and I are having a disagreement about the regs, and I thought I'd run this by the experienced members here.

I'm a student, ready for my XC solo. My CFI insists that, according to regulation, he must fly the route with me, and that I receive training at each of the airports along the way. In the FAR, I've found that for the "less than 25" and "between 25-50" solos, that is true. But I don't see anything about him having to pre-fly the "long XC" with me in either 61.93 or 61.87.

It looks to me that he only needs to: approve of my planning, approve of the weather, determine that I'm a competent pilot to do the solo, and make sure I have the appropriate endorsements. 61.93(d)

Now, if he wants to fly the route with me, great; I'm always up for more learning. Am I missing something in the regs?

It seems conventional to pre-fly the first solo cross country as dual, but not the "long" one. No, the regs do not require it. The flight school might.

Your instructor might need that to determine that you're competent to solo. That is, observe you finding the airport, handling flight following, and all the other stuff that goes with it.

You are right, he is wrong.

Your instructor might need that to determine that you're competent to solo. That is, observe you finding the airport, handling flight following, and all the other stuff that goes with it.

I find this a reasonable practice.

For my solo XC's it helped to have him along at first to point out various landmarks and confirm my pilotage plan was spot on.

Then when I did the flight solo, I was more comfortable and enjoyed the experience more.

Not a good thing when you disagree with you CFI ,it might be he thinks you are over confident about your planning and flying skills. It is his ticket on the line when he signs you off. Good luck.