SI for misdiagnosis of Bipolar Disorder

Myguy13

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Myguy13
I’ve recently got misdiagnosed with bipolar disorder type 1 . I’m currently an ATP pilot who has been flying for 10 years so this really is a shock to the system.

I was wondering if anyone had any information for how long it could take to receive a special issuance medical if shown to be a misdiagnosis.

I have no prior history of this illness and I’m working to be stepped off medications as we speak . I expect a long path but I have no resources as of right now.

Also has anyone in here been in my situation or know someone in my situation?

Thank you!

myguy13 said:
I’ve recently got misdiagnosed with bipolar disorder type 1 . I’m currently an ATP pilot who has been flying for 10 years so this really is a shock to the system. I was wondering if anyone had any information for how long it could take to receive a special issuance medical if shown to be a misdiagnosis. I have no prior history of this illness and I’m working to be stepped off medications as we speak . I expect a long path but I have no resources as of right now. Also has anyone in here been in my situation or know someone in my situation? Thank you!
Particularly if this diagnosis involved board certified psychiatrists, you are taking at least a 10 year holiday from aviation. There is no such thing as an "SI for bipolar".

That diagnosis, may be in error but the difficulty is that the ability to "reality test" is EXACTLY what is at stake here, so your conviction that this is an error already has its credibility called into question (whether fair or not). So the FAA will regard the local board certified psychiatrist (not APRN) as an expert.