Should I be scared of airplane ownership

jd21476

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
jd21476
I am a low time VFR pilot and I currently fly with a local club. I have been looking through the classifieds for a while now and just have never pulled the trigger on buying my own plane due to the fear of the unknown. I have read many reviews on the cost of ownership but it is the unexpected costs or the vague answers about engine reliability and rebuild that gets me. I can get a loan for the plane and I can afford the routine maintenance but the Major Engine Overhaul of $15k to $30k is a tough pill to swallow.

The less expensive, and more within my budget, planes are closer to the Engine Overhaul. They also usually have basic radios and systems.

The club that I currently fly with has some decent C172's and Grumman AG5Bs, both of which I am checked out on. Almost all of the club aircraft have a Garmin 430 or better and I like flying the club aircraft but it is not real practical for extended trips.

The club has a minimum of 1 hour per day for fees so if I fly somewhere for a week and let the plane sit I can pay up to $700 for just letting the plane hang out at the airport. I addition, I work about 100 miles from my house at a military airfield. I have flown a club plane to work before but only if I am turning around and heading back the next day, as to avoid extra fees. If it was my own plane, I could fly all the time and just let is sit at work through out the week.

I still have a year to decide as the military is sending me on a trip for a little while but I know it is something I will be thinking about a lot while I am gone.

For those of you that own planes, can you give me some stories of ownership.....good and bad.