Safety Pilot Etiquette

Ventucky Red

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Jon
Is there some sort of a un-written, goes without saying, standard code of ethnics for those that wish to be a safety pilots. Like you're not an instructor, and don't touch my radios, for gawd sake keep an eye out for traffic:eek:

Asking to a friend......

Is there some sort of a un-written, goes without saying, standard code of ethnics for those that wish to be a safety pilots. Like you're not an instructor, and don't touch my radios, for gawd sake keep an eye out for traffic:eek:

Asking to a friend......

No standard, but it is good to iron out the details before hand so each has the same expectations. And although a safety pilot is not an instructor, a good experienced instrument pilot can provide some good pointers. They can also teach bad habits as well. At a minimum though, the safety pilot is there to make sure you don't run into anything.

Well, I started training in Sept 2020, passed my checkride in April 2021 so I do not have a ton of experience with the role. BUT, a pilot friend of mine shared this over beers one cold Saturday about five years ago, and provided the photo below. I asked permission to use the story in my customer presentations as part of the need to communicate in all phases. Perhaps you can share these lessons learnt.
The crew: Two RAF military, turned civilian pilots, with a combined total in excess of 12,000 hours are flying, one as PIC and the other as Safety Pilot on check ride for instrument. PIC is under foggles for all phases and the Safety is looking for other AC.
* The indicator horn and warning light had been disabled in the AC because they were always going off and owner did not feel it was useful.
** No pre-flight briefing.
*** No sterile cockpit defined.