Please critique my avionics choices

MountainDude

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
MountainDude
Hi all.
I just bought a 1976 Cessna 182P with all original instruments.

Please note:
- I am a VFR pilot only and have zero interest in IR
- I mostly fly XC flights (been to Alaska and Caribbean, plan a lot more of that)
- I have SkyBeacon and Stratus 3 form my ADS-B (they both work great)
- I use FlyQ EFB (love it)

I plan to install:
PMA-6000B audio panel/intercom
GNC255A (primary Nav/Com)
GTR225 (second Com)
TruTrak AutoPilot
Garmin Aera 660 (in panel) to drive TruTrak
Insight G2 engine monitor with fuel flow and carb temp

Would you do anything differently?
Thank you

I have the first two items on your list and they work great.

When I started training just over two years ago, I made the same statement "I'll never fly IFR". I just passed my IFR Practical last Saturday. I'd just think carefully about something with a WAAS GPS vs Aera, or at least have an upgrade path if you change your mind.

Only other thing to maybe add is a way to add an Ipad for additional situational awareness. Could be as simple as building a Stratux for $100 or getting an Ipad with GPS

I have the first two items on your list and they work great.

When I started training just over two years ago, I made the same statement "I'll never fly IFR". I just passed my IFR Practical last Saturday. I'd just think carefully about something with a WAAS GPS vs Aera, or at least have an upgrade path if you change your mind.

Only other thing to maybe add is a way to add an Ipad for additional situational awareness. Could be as simple as building a Stratux for $100 or getting an Ipad with GPS

Thanks. I currently use my iPhone as an EFB. There is no room for an iPad, and there is no need either.
I have been flying VFR for 10 years and 600 hrs and want to continue flying VFR.
Cheers

I know you said you have no interest in IR but I would add a second Nav for a back up.