pilots vs maintenance guys. Round 1 goes to maint.

pb172

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
pb172
Is there some sort of rift between pilots and maintenance guys? Today, I found out the hard way maint guys apparently don't get along w/pilots at my facility.

I had a plane booked, but found it near the maint hangar. usually planes that are on flight line that are ready for use ARE NOT parked there. I asked a maintenance guy,..." hey is N...." in maintenance? He says, "check the board". I see on the board its ready for flight, but found it odd it was parked next to maint hangar. I cancelled the plane and got another for other reasons.

Am doing instrument training right now. CFII states that maint guys do not talk to pilots!
Is this normal out there? I did all my flying on military base aero clubs until now. I never saw that happen.

Decided to just play nice and stay away from them. I'm the new guy I guess

Hmmm... I'm a pilot and I talk to an A&P frequently. Thankfully not always about maintaining my plane. He's a nice guy and his hangar is a few doors down from mine.

It could be in your case that wrenches don't talk to the pilots because there are many renters flying the sucker and they take their instructions only from the MX Officer in the club. That keeps the mechanic from enjoying chats all day that they are not authorized to work on.

When I was in a club (14 owners) all squawks had to be reported to the MX Officer or Treasurer, and then the message went to the A&P. This kept cost, confusion, and some spurious reports in check.

This kind of cultural dynamic is highly localized, it might be true of your flight school, but could be completely different at another next door.