Passed Commercial checkride

DesertNomad

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
DesertNomad
I took my commercial ASEL checkride this week and passed. People often say this was the easiest one, but of my PPL, IR and CPL, I think the IR was the easiest. Maybe because I am a software developer and all the procedural stuff just clicks with me.

As expected, the power-off 180 was my biggest fear but I absolutely nailed it... probably the best one I have ever done. 6 knots of wind about 20 degrees off the runway, so it was a great day for it. I knew coming over the chevrons that I had it perfectly set up... just don't screw it up!
icon_e_biggrin.gif

A bit over two hours on the oral and 1.8 on the Hobbs. In the last month I have made 94 landings, many (most?) with the power off. That sure helped.

For the written, I used Sporty's and scored a 93%. The ASA Oral Prep guide helped some, but so did the FAR/AIM especially parts 91 and 135.

Now on to CFI...

Last edited:
Congratulations- significant accomplishment.

Great job, congrats! Any thoughts/reflections on your experience, and recommendations to those of us who have not done commercial training yet?

Great job, congrats! Any thoughts/reflections on your experience, and recommendations to those of us who have not done commercial training yet?

Hopefully you can do the checkride in an airplane you are very familiar with. I have about 840 hours, with 660 in my Dakota.