Nice result of a maintenance problem on a UA A-320...

Ghery

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Ghery Pettit
We were boarding a fight from SFO to SAN this morning when we were asked to come back up to the galley while a mechanic came on board to work on my wife's seat. Seems it wouldn't move from the partially reclined position it was in. Last row in 1st, window seat. For some reason my wife commented to one of the FAs that I was a pilot, and I was invited to go up to the cockpit while they worked on her seat. Sat in the left seat and shot the bull with the pilot and FO. The pilot's daughter is working on her private certificate in the Denver area and then going to ATP. I hope she does well. Much more comfortable than standing in the galley. The captain joked that with a short training session he could take my seat in 1st and I could join the FO making the flight. I said that I doubted the FAA and UA would see the humor in that idea. :p The mechanic came up and wanted the captain's opinion as the seat couldn't be fixed. As it was in the back row of 1st and a window seat, it wasn't a safety concern for an emergency evacuation, so we were still able to use it. Not sure what we would have done if it wasn't useable, that flight was full. Ride in the jump seat? :p:p

Oh, and UA gave me 5,000 miles for the inconvenience. Double good outcome. :D

Not sure what we would have done if it wasn't useable, that flight was full.

I was jump seating when I noticed the seat I was in (last class) would not stay in the upright position. I did not mention it until after take off because then the seat would be noted as INOP and I would be looking for another ride.

I did tell the lead FA and she got in touch with operations and they had a replacement seat waiting as we deplaned. She did thank me for letting them know so there would not be any delays, and gave me a miniature whiskey.