New guy on the block looking for input...

Joel Chance

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
JCsrollin
Hey there Guys and Gals,

My name is Joel and I'm new to the sight. I put in a Google search for any forums where I might find amputee/disabled pilots and... Bingo!... found ya'll. So here's my predicament... I used to fly back in the late '80s before I joined the Navy. During those 6 years, I got married, had kids and went back to college. Right after I got out, I continued going to school and additionally worked two jobs... so flying was simply not in the picture. Then, in 2000 I was in a motorcycle accident and shattered a portion of my spine so now I'm a complete paraplegic from the mid chest-down. And... to put the cherry on the top, I most recently had to have my lower legs removed at the knees. Thankfully, my upper body is in great shape. So what does all of this have to do with the price of tea in China? I WANT TO FLY AGAIN SOOO BADLY!!! However... is it even possible in my condition??? Does anyone out there have some input or guidance for me? Even if the answer is "No way Jose'!", I would still be grateful for the illumination upon my dream.

Thank you all in advance for whoever took the time to ready this. I'd be truly appreciative of any advise you might be able to share with me. Oh, forgot to mention, I'm 51 so I don't have much time to accomplish my goal if it is possible. Thanks again and have an awesome day!

Joel

Follow your dream,do a google search ,there are schools out there ,with specially equipped aircraft.Good luck .

Very inspiring. I hope you are a me to achieve your dream