Multi Time vs Glass Time

MulePilot

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
MulePilot
Hi there,
I'm currently an instrument-rated private pilot with about 200hrs and enrolled in a flight program at a college. My next course of action will be the commercial certificate but I'm in a bit of a dilemma. My options are either to stay ASEL in a G1000 equipped C172 or to transition to a steam-gauge B58 Baron. All of my private time was with round dials, and all of my instrument time has been glass. I am not interested in the airline path, rather the corporate/business or charter route. So my question is would you, as employers, prefer to see more experience in multi-time, or time in a glass panel?

If you can afford to feed two engines that is the route to take.

Others who have been there will be along soon, but my OPINION is that multi time and a type rating are more useful than the instrumentation.

If you can afford to feed two engines that is the route to take.

Others who have been there will be along soon, but my OPINION is that multi time and a type rating are more useful than the instrumentation.

:yeahthat:

Multi time is far more useful.

Being a child of the magenta line may actually make you less desirable.

Hi there,
I'm currently an instrument-rated private pilot with about 200hrs and enrolled in a flight program at a college. My next course of action will be the commercial certificate but I'm in a bit of a dilemma. My options are either to stay ASEL in a G1000 equipped C172 or to transition to a steam-gauge B58 Baron. All of my private time was with round dials, and all of my instrument time has been glass. I am not interested in the airline path, rather the corporate/business or charter route. So my question is would you, as employers, prefer to see more experience in multi-time, or time in a glass panel?

Multiengine for sure. Employers don't care about your glass experience.

Bob