Meet my new airplane!

mr_happyland

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
mr_happyland
After a long and patient search, I finally bought me an airplane! I had been looking far and wide for a Grumman Tiger that fit my criteria and finally came across one only 13 miles away from my house. I closed on it last week but was finally able to fly her to her new home at Whiteman Airport (KWHP) in Los Angeles.

the details:
1992 Grumman Tiger, 3,200 total time, 1270 SMOH, 60 SPOH. She really has been beautifully maintained. It's in excellent condition and had been hangared for at least the last 18 years. It has a King radio stack and STEC 50 autopilot. I will be making my wallet even thinner in a few weeks and by putting in a GTN 650 plus GTX 345 (Garmin suckered me in with a holiday rebate package).

Thanks everybody (especially Ron) for all the Grumman advice given over the last several months. IMG_3066.JPG display-asset.jpeg

I've been flying AA5s full-time for about two months now. They're great planes! Congrats!

Good choice! Congrats

Nice plane. Had mine for a month now and absolutely love it.

Nice Tiger! Looks like a former Embry Riddle aircraft.

Looks like a great bird, congrats on the purchase!

Beautiful!

I love the clean and purposeful way the AA planes are built. You'll have many grand adventures in her.

Like the Tiger on the tail!

(gotcha a Tiger by the tail now) ;)

Purty aeroplane, enjoy! And congrats.

Last edited:
Nice! 6pc will be along shortly to whine about not finding HIS Tiger yet! :(

Very nice! Sliding canopies are the best on hot days, uncovered lightening holes FTW, and that free-castering wheel is where it belongs...up front. :D

Uh, keeping the elements out would be a point. Every aircraft I've worked on has had exposed lightening holes covered in one way or another.

Depends a lot on whether the aircraft is hangared or not. Fit a gust lock and the elevator's counterweights cover up the holes pretty well too.