Is it a too big jump?

Frostyline

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Frostyline
Hi, new here. Trying to get some help from the community here and hope getting some insights from those who had similar experiences in their past. I am a rookie pilot with 180 hours with private and instrument ratings and only 30 hours in high performance and complex in a Comanche 250. My mission is for short business trip and carrying family 5 (800 lbs) for trips and vacations. Just got a hanger at local airport close to me...exciting !! I am now looking at Cessna 210, Lance or a Cessna 340/A. Has anyone ever bought a twin 340 without even having a twin rating and had good experience with it? I know the fuel system is complicated however the useful Load can be 1800-2000 lbs after RAM conversions and pressurized cabin gives your the comfort. Is this a too big jump for me to even considering a twin? Or I should go by with a 210 or a P210? Appreciate any advice!

First: Research the cost of maintenance on the 340, and see if you can actually afford it. Folks have learned to fly in jets; it really depends on the pilot, so you'll need to have someone objective (a flight instructor, for example) evaluate your skills and ability to learn.

Is it too big of a jump to consider a twin? No.
Is it too big of a jump to consider a pressurized, cabin class, turbocharged twin? Probably.

I don't even know if you could get insurance on a 340. I think you also may want to look at what your "mission" is for the airplane, because a 210 and a 340 operate in quite different flight regimes. The fact that you're considering both really indicates that you need to narrow down what you want to do with a plane.

If that really is the route you want to go, I'd strongly suggest a Baron/310/Seneca/Aztec beforehand.

But as others will say, it can be done with money and time.

Last edited: