IFR - personal minimums question

Matthew

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Matthew
I’m still working on that rating. The bad part about winter is canceling a lot of lessons, but the good thing is getting to experience a whole lot of different conditions.

One thing I’m working on is learning to set new personal minimums for IFR vs VFR.

Here’s a real world example from today: clg are 600’, surface temps are 5C (40F), elevation is right about 1000’. The charts show a freezing level of 4000’ and my training flight would be about 3500’. The 4000’ line is right on top of us, and right on the other side is sfc-4000’ freezing levels. The potential for <0C + IMC was pretty high so we canceled.

I’m still learning: what’s a good safety margin? What to look and look out for? I’ve had this discussion with my CFII but am wondering how others look at it.

I’m not sure what you mean by feeezing levels Sfc-4000 “right on the other side”, but aside from that it sounds to me like a decent training day. You’re planning to be below the freezing level, but you’ve got some outs if you’re not.

I’m not sure what you mean by feeezing levels Sfc-4000 “right on the other side”, but aside from that it sounds to me like a decent training day. You’re planning to be below the freezing level, but you’ve got some outs if you’re not.
There’s an area showing freezing level sfc-8000 (I know I typed 4000) right next to the 4000’ line that’s right over top of me. So even if you trust that 4000 level, you don’t have to get very far before freezing levels could get a lot lower.

I’m trying to judge what’s a good margin to allow. For example: If you’re planning flight at an altitude 500’ below a predicted freezing level, is that an OK decision to go or is that cutting it too close (and why?)

Anything close to ice, I don’t mess around. For me that margin is too close.