How Should Avionics be Connected for IFR Flight

KingAir1922

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
KingAir1922
I’m very new to the GA world. So new, in fact, that I haven’t actually begun flight training yet. My goal is to (hopefully) save a little on training, but mostly I want higher-quality logbook hours with more diverse training experiences. So, I’m hoping to buy my own plane. I already understand the increased risk and responsibility that goes with that—believe me, I’ve been studying and researching my aft end off. I want a plane that can get me at least through IFR training, but I don’t know exactly what to look for in a plane.

My hope is to start in the spring or early summer. I know for sure I want a plane that it ADS-B equipped. I know I want at least a WAAS capable GPS. But beyond that, I don’t really understand how the avionics are supposed to be connected to one-another to make the plane instrument certified. I know the radios are key to it, but how will I know if the GPS is actually connected in such a way that it is FAA approved for IFR and not just for general reference? What about the HSI, GSI, and other instruments?

I’d like to find a plane with a couple of G5s, but planes equipped with those are getting a little out of my price range, so more realistically I’m looking at steam gauges with at least a Garmin 430W in the panel. If anyone could break down how the navigation equipment is all supposed to be connected so I can be sure I’m finding the airplane I need, I would be most appreciative.

Last edited:
There should be a nav indicator (CDI with Glideslope or HSI with Glideslope) connected to the 430W. That’s all that is required for navigation. You will require a functioning 6-pack as well. Vertical speed is not required, but recommended. You will need an Attitude indicator, DG, altimeter, airspeed indicator and turn coordinator. Those are all you need.