How far am I from soloing, realistically?

manlymatt83

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Matt
I realize it's different for everyone, which is why I would never ask my instructor this! We've now had four lessons in the pattern. I've done about 25 lessons total with another lesson this Sunday. Flying about twice per week. Today we did some engine out landings and crosswind landings, and I learned slips.

Am I within 10 hours of soloing? 20? I just have no idea what's next! Exciting stuff.

You're right... Impossible to say.

The good news- from the things you are working on it sounds like you are close.

The bad news- I've had students get stuck at this point. They just couldn't get that final flare to the consistently safe level that I needed to see.

I realize it's different for everyone...

Am I within 10 hours of soloing? 20? I just have no idea what's next! Exciting stuff.

You'll be ready when you're ready. :)

I'm a 96 hour pilot, but after talking to various other pilots, everyone IS different and everyone solo's at a different number of hours.

Don't worry about it, just enjoy it all.

I realize it's different for everyone, which is why I would never ask my instructor this! We've now had four lessons in the pattern. I've done about 25 lessons total with another lesson this Sunday. Flying about twice per week. Today we did some engine out landings and crosswind landings, and I learned slips.

No no... Ask him. Seriously. He has a better idea than any of us, and should be able to express what needs to be worked on...especially after 25 lessons total. That should be enough for most to get there (figure 1 hr / lesson) not all, but most.

How smooth are your landings? Are you on centerline? Is the speed correct? Do you have proper crosswind control? Are you drifting side to side? Do you land at the spot that you want to?

In other words, are you good? And are you consistent?