How and where to register my plane? IL or TN?

Thunderbird83

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Thunderbird83
Sorry for the rudimentary nature of this post, but I am a first time airplane buyer looking for guidance.
I am buying an airplane next month. The airplane is currently located in Illinois and titled in an LLC.

I am a Tennessee resident, but I also have a house in Illinois. The plane will primarily be hangared in Illinois and I will use it to go back and forth to TN. I don’t have a hangar in TN, only IL.

Should I register the plane where it spends most of its time (IL) or where I am a resident (TN)? What about sales tax and LLC formation?

Last edited:
AOPA has resources to help with this. You'll need to look into the nuance of the USE tax in both states. Planes will fall under a use tax, but they may each have requirements for time spent in-state etc. LLC formation is up to you. Also planes don't have titles, they just simply are registered under your name/address.

I paid the sales [EDIT: or USE tax whatever - same cost so for me only difference in terminology] tax in the state in which I reside and where the aircraft is primarily hangered. The LLC is in another state friendly to LLC but otherwise no reason to choose that other state.

I figured I could have avoided the sales tax for some time. Run and hide. Make them chase me. The effort was not worth my energy. Just paid the sales tax upfront to my actual home state of residence and place of hanger and didn't have to worry about it after that. EDIT: My home state charges no additional annual tax on the aircraft as property tax or something similar. I understand other states do that for automobiles so expect it is possible some states also do that for aircraft. I do not have to deal with that.

If you can argue the case for either TN or IL then I would choose the one that costs less. That is me and my risk tolerance.