"Hey hit me up when you got some more time in that thing!"

CC268

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
CC268
This cracks me up. I am a new Private Pilot - only 60 hours. I recently got a new 1965 Cherokee 140 with my dad and posted some photos on social media. Of course a bunch of my friends comment and say how cool it is and how they want to go fly with me, etc. But...I have found that no one "really" actually wants to go up with me lol. I mean don't get me wrong, I don't blame them to some extent. I would be really nervous to go fly with a new pilot as well. At least my girlfriend loves to go which is pretty cool.

Just curious - when did your friends start going with you or how did you make them comfortable enough to go up with you?

Side note: I went up last night with an instructor to go up and do some stalls, emergency procedures, night landings, no flap landings, engine failure on downwind, landing at night with no landing light, etc...I absolutely nailed it. I feel comfortable without being cocky. Every instructor I have ever flown with has been really impressed and comfortable. I feel safe, but I know I am no Top Gun. I am extremely conscientious and always error on the side of being conservative.

Right after your checkride you are as sharp as you are going to be for a long time. It's pretty common for people to say they are interested, then back out for various reasons. Some never ride along. If they really want a ride, they'll do it. Otherwise they never will, no matter how many hours you have.

Took my mom and friend up the day after I got my license. I just did what I learned in training and did not try to impress them.

I took my first few pax a few days after my checkride with around 55 hours. I've also encountered some people that mention they want to go but never have, doesn't bother me because I could care less if they ever come along.

If your girlfriend loves to fly with you, I'd say you're doing great!