Help me study for an airline interview...

AggieMike88

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
The original "I don't know it all" of aviation.
This thread is to be a container for different questions I develop as I'm studying for an airline interviews.

I am using the gouge found at www.airlineinterviews.com. Every once and a while I come across something that I want to know more about, or the answers listed are conflicting, or do not yet make sense.

Many I eventually figure out for myself. Others remain a brain stumper. So for those, I turn to some of the braintrust here for help...

Hopefully this will also help others as they prepare for their interviews

Let's start with Takeoff Minimums....

2 questions for this... Specifically applying the RVR information to the T/O Minima on the Jepp Airport Information plate.

I know that 5/5/5 in the minima means we need at least 500 feet in the TDZ, Mid, and Roll out areas respectively

If an "M" appears in the RVR, such as 5/M/5, what does it mean?​

Next, a gouge question asks

Can you T/O with M/6/6? (reference the KDFW Minima)

But the answers in the gouge are conflicting... which is correct? Any added explanations?

• Yes, With 3 RVR sensors, all are controlling. At least 2 are required to be operational
  • RVR for Approach end, mid field and roll out. If first one is missing or low you can not takeoff.
  • NO
DFW TAKEOFF MIN.jpeg

That is more like a checkride question than an interview question.

5/M/5 means the midfield RVR sensor is inoperative (missing).

In your scenario, you could takeoff with M/6/6, but not, for example, 4/6/6.

However your carrier will have OpSpecs that might change interpretation of this table. That's why I said it's more of a checkride question. What airline is this for?

Next question...

While on approach, what happens if the RVR drops below mins inside the FAF?