GTN 650 and a clearance from Santa Monica (KSMO)

PilotRobert

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
PilotRobert
Sorry long explanation for a one line question at the bottom.

I have been a private pilot since 1989 and an IFR rated pilot since 2001 and really got the rating more for safety then flying in IFR conditions. Although I do not fly much IFR. Recently I have been trying to get back to some IFR basics and and have completed my IPC. So now I am trying to file IFR every cross country trip more to handle the radio/clearance aspect. So with all that said I recently did an Angel Flight from KBFL to KSMO with minimal effort for the IFR clearance and flight. It was on my return leg where it got more interesting. I will try to layout my accepted filed route and then the clearance I received from Santa Monica ground.

Flight KSMO - KBFL
Route approved: CHATY V23 GMN FASTO2

My clearance went like this (i am not a controller so please forgive my ATC attempted lingo please).

Angel Flight XXX clear to Bakersfield Airport fly runway heading to Los Angeles radial 315 turn right heading 250 vectors to victor 23 gorman vor then as filed maintain 3000 expect 10000 in 5 minutes departure frequency 124.2 squawk 4660.

So being relatively inexperienced in IFR clearances that was a lot to take in to start with but I managed my way through it.

So on to programming the GTN 650. I have to say I am not really all that experienced with the unit but I do my normal good pilot practice using simulators on the GTN 650 and thought I was doing fairly well with it until this happened. I pride myself as being pretty tech savvy as well.