Garmin G5 version 5.5

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by WannFly, Aug 2, 2018.

  1. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,705
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Brand spankin new still in the box unopened G5 for sale????
     
  2. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,594
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    If the AV-30 was certified to replace primary instruments on certified aircraft right now - yep, that would be the case.
     
  3. Stephen Shore

    Stephen Shore Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Longview, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    sshore
    When will the G5 be compatible with a King KFC200?!

    Garmin would not be able to keep up with the orders
     
  4. MooneyDriver78

    MooneyDriver78 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,165
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tom
    They already do:[​IMG]
     
  5. Stephen Shore

    Stephen Shore Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Longview, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    sshore
    I don't think the GAD 29B is for certified aircraft.
     
  6. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,224
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    You are incorrect.
     
  7. Stephen Shore

    Stephen Shore Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Longview, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    sshore
    you may be correct on that. But it still requires a Garmin GPS in order to work with the G5. The G5 as a stand alone will not couple with a KFC 200 according to my Garmin dealer. If that is not correct let me know- I just spent $2,000 rebuilding a KI 256 because I was told the G5 would not interface with my KFC 200. I do NOT have any type of Garmin GPS - KNS or KTN series at all.
     
  8. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,224
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    Also incorrect, BUT it is not a simple process. You would basically need to install the G5 HSI kit but you won't have the HSI anymore. You would have to install CDIs for each nav radio you have, impractical IMHO. The only thing you would get from G5 HSI kit is heading bug interfaced to your KFC200, until you install Garmin/Avidyne GPS.
     
  9. Stephen Shore

    Stephen Shore Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Longview, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    sshore
    that is basically what my Garmin avionics dealer / installer said - but he went one step further and just said that it could not be done.

    I am planning on a GTN 750 install in the next couple of months, but I went ahead and had the KI 256 repaired just because I did not want to go without not only an AP, but in effect an Attitude Indicator also. The backup AI is all the way over on the co-pilot side.
     
  10. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,594
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    I just did the update on my G5...now that I have one.

    stealth gloat
     
    WannFly and NealRomeoGolf like this.
  11. Raymo

    Raymo Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Raymo
    I have AOA with the indicator on my Dynon EFIS. Never look at it while landing. Eyes are outside. The AOA audio is all I ever use. Slow beep progresses to faster to solid tone.
     
  12. chartbundle

    chartbundle Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    945
    Location:
    State of Confusion
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    chartbundle
    The problem is that most people who want the G5 to interface with the KFC200/KFC150/KAP150 etc don't want it for the HSI side, that has worked for a while with the GAD 29b.

    They want it, as mentioned, for the KI 256 or KG 258(or similar for century), the attitude indicator/flight director. This integration isn't available, and may never be available. If you look at it from a technical perspective it's pretty easy, maybe $100 in parts, but I suspect by the time you're done you end up with the GAD 43(e) price, which admittedly would be nice if they made it work with the G5 in addition to the G500/TXi.
     
  13. arnoha

    arnoha Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,132
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    arnoha
    I'm fairly certain Garmin made a market decision there, based on the fact that attitude-based AP tend to be pricier and go in higher-end aircraft, that they didn't want to provide a path through G5, but would rather push you to TXi. The perception being that they'd gain more revenue to the higher-end system than what would be lost in G5 sales.

    I'm wondering if Dynon getting off the ground pushing certified SkyView sales will push Garmin to rethink their strategy.
     
  14. NordicDave

    NordicDave Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    632
    Location:
    San Jose
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NordicDave
    Actually Aerovonics company website states the heading indicator WILL provide heading bug for old analog auto pilots.
     
  15. Robert Burke

    Robert Burke Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Robert G
    I just flew a friends C172 with G5 and 430 setup, amazing.
     
  16. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,224
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    Dad has a GTN650, dual G5 and GFC500 with optional pitch trim, it is insane. I like being able to set it all up and having the autopilot fly while I'm looking out the windows.
     
    CC268 likes this.
  17. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3,769
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    on similar lines, any idea if GFC 5000 with get the Nav input from GNS 480? cant seem to find the install manual and only documentation I see mentions GTN and GNS 435/530. but again, this is not the first time they forgot the mention 480
     
  18. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,224
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    http://static.garmin.com/pumac/190-01112-10_14.pdf looks like it
     
    WannFly likes this.
  19. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3,769
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
  20. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,224
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    The GFC500 gets ALL navigation & orientation data from the G5/GAD system. There is no "nav inputs" on the "GFC500" equipment itself.
     
  21. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3,769
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    sweet thanks. now if I could find 15 AMU somewhere,....
     
  22. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,224
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    That is part of the beauty of the G5 & GFC500, you can invest in parts of the system and not have to buy everything at once. The GFC500 only needs one G5 but to get all the features you need two. So a guy could do one, or two G5s, then buy a GFC500 with or without electric pitch trim, electric trim can be added later. A lot more flexible install options than buying two EFIS displays and an autopilot in one shot.
     
    Ryan F. likes this.
  23. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3,769
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    I was quoted 15k for GFC 500 with the automatic pitch trim. already have 2 G5 connected to 480. not sure adding the pitch trim later would save me a whole lot than doing it at the same time. in any case, unless I am going "breaking bad"... don't have that 15 AMU ..lol
     
    bnt83 likes this.
  24. N41457

    N41457 Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    N41457
    Anyone update to v6.00 yet?
    Dave
     
  25. MooneyDriver78

    MooneyDriver78 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,165
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tom
    Yes, but I haven’t flown since. I wish I could update the GTN, my avionics people are non responsive.


    Tom
     
  26. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    21,696
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    What's new about it?
     
  27. Ryan F.

    Ryan F. Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    595
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan Ferguson 1974
    I haven't been able to detect any changes (for just the G5 AI) for the last few revisions... lot of "under the hood" stuff going on I think.
     
  28. Challenged

    Challenged Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,597
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Challenged
    Changes made from version 5.70 to 6.00:

    • Improved VOR TO/FROM flag operation for NAV radios connected via RS-232
    • General improvements to system operation
    • Includes update to GAD 29 software version 3.10
    • Includes update to GMC 507 software version 2.80
    • Includes update to GSA 28 software version 4.30
    • Includes GMU 11 software version 2.00
     
  29. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    21,696
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Jeez... I had to look up what a GSA 28 is.

    It's the servo for the GFC 500. Servo software! Something we didn't have before digital autopilots...

    I'm guessing "general improvements to system operation" probably encompasses the powering off issue recently discussed here...
     
  30. Arrow76R

    Arrow76R Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Arrow76r
    I updated in February but haven't noticed any differences. No GFC 500, though.