Garmin G5 version 5.5

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by WannFly, Aug 2, 2018.

  1. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3,769
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    https://www8.garmin.com/support/download_details.jsp?id=10739

    Changes made from version 5.20 to 5.50:
    • Added support for G500/TXI integration
    • Added support for GTN VNAV guidance
    • Added config mode indication that aircraft is in motion during magnetometer calibration
    • Improved CAN bus error reporting
    • Improved VHF NAV radio RS-232 OBS course data output
    • General improvements to system operation
    • Includes update to GMC 507 software version 2.40
    • Includes GAD 29 software version 3.00
    • Includes GMU 11 software version 2.00
    • Includes GSA 28 software version 4.10
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  2. NealRomeoGolf

    NealRomeoGolf Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    967
    Location:
    Illinois / Germany
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NRG
    Updated mine yesterday
     
  3. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,594
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    Mine arrives Wednesday. I wonder if it already has the update.
     
  4. GRG55

    GRG55 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    5,841
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Aztec Flyer
    I wish I was 30 years younger and understood all this stuff. :confused:

    Between the acronyms, the software versions and things like "config mode" it's all seems unnecessarily complex. No wonder @Shepherd flies a Cub. :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2018
    Timbeck2 likes this.
  5. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,594
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    You aren't alone brother.
     
    JOhnH and GRG55 like this.
  6. CC268

    CC268 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,524
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    CC268
    Doesn’t an avionics shop have to do the software update?
     
  7. NealRomeoGolf

    NealRomeoGolf Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    967
    Location:
    Illinois / Germany
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NRG
    The downloads and instructions are right on the website. Then you insert the microSD card in the unit, it auto recognizes the file and updates. Takes 30 seconds and a reboot. If you have to pay a dealer to do that then I will quit flying.
     
  8. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,594
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    A bit harsh doncha think? My friend was only asking who does the update. He's young and can't know everything like the rest of us.
     
    CC268 likes this.
  9. CC268

    CC268 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,524
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    CC268
    Gotcha yea I just did it about 30 mins ago and it was incredibly easy. Updated my radio database as well
     
  10. NealRomeoGolf

    NealRomeoGolf Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    967
    Location:
    Illinois / Germany
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NRG
    We haven't met in person. I am not capable of harsh (unless you are my child) so read my posts in a chill voice or add a missing :cool: emoji or something. I am harmless I swear. :)
     
  11. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,594
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    Okey doke. :happydance:
     
  12. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3,769
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    Let’s open that can of worms
     
  13. gacoon

    gacoon Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Gerry
    Log book entry?
     
    bnt83 likes this.
  14. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3,769
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    Now THAT is the can of worms I was referring to
     
  15. CC268

    CC268 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,524
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    CC268
    Listen fellas I updated it to v5.50. Worked like a charm. Flew this morning. Good times. Worked good. Got a blistering 123 knots coming into KDVT.

    Cheers.
     
    WannFly likes this.
  16. StanN45

    StanN45 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    StanN45
    How do you get the updates, or the MicroSD card?
     
  17. bradg33

    bradg33 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,394
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Esquire99
    Download the updates from Garmin's website onto a standard microSD card (buy from Amazon, etc.)
     
    CC268 likes this.
  18. MooneyDriver78

    MooneyDriver78 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,165
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tom
    If you have dual G5s, you need to do both, otherwise they complain about software mismatch.
     
  19. James331

    James331 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18,660
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    James331
  20. MooneyDriver78

    MooneyDriver78 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,165
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tom
    No autopilot integration (magnetic heading or gpss) is a major con.
     
  21. James331

    James331 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18,660
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    James331
    For a AI, with AP being driven from a existing HSI or eHSI... just sucks to not have a FD, but still the the AOA lime thing and form factor and all, plus at 1500ish bucks
     
  22. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3,769
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    Probeless AOA.... don’t think I will bite that. But for 1500 if the vacuum AI fails and there is no AP, can’t beat this
     
    flyer770 likes this.
  23. James331

    James331 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18,660
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    James331
    Or if your AP goes off your HSI like mine
     
    WannFly likes this.
  24. MooneyDriver78

    MooneyDriver78 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,165
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Tom
    AOA is useless with audio alerts IMO, I’m not looking at the panel when AOA is likely be most useful. Still it looks nice and for someone without an AP it would be an option, but a G5 killer, no. I do hope Garmin sees it and notices the arc mode, G5 needs that.
     
  25. arnoha

    arnoha Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,132
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    arnoha
    With the AV-30, how do you update the software? I don't see a USB or SD card slot anywhere.

    Upside of these digital displays is that all it takes is some programming and a software update to get new features. I would expect Garmin to update the G5 with that feature in a few months!
     
  26. James331

    James331 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18,660
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    James331
    It’s reslly not a big deal, work plane has a AOA on the top efis, just a glance away.
     
  27. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3,769
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    WannaFly
    Some, if not all AOA have an option to connect to the audio panel. It’s nice when u here either a tone or a voice telling you are getting slow (unless your are a few feet above ground). But yah, without voice it’s too much to focus inside during critical phases
     
  28. Ryan F.

    Ryan F. Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    595
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan Ferguson 1974
    No AP pickoffs, no vertical modes on HSI, form factor is so-so, no reversionary mode, 30 minute backup battery only, vaporware until 2019... G5 killer, not a chance. For non-AP airplanes on a budget, might be a nice pair of instruments, especially for VFR only.

    It will take a lot more than this to threaten the dual G5 configuration. Go back in time by 5 years and we'd all be out of our gourds over this, though. Heh.
     
    WannFly likes this.
  29. CC268

    CC268 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,524
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    CC268
    Meh looks mehhhhhh
     
    WannFly likes this.
  30. 5QK

    5QK Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    5QK
    What cc268 said.
     
  31. James331

    James331 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18,660
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    James331
    Again I don’t get the AP issue, LOTS of APs don’t go off the AI
     
  32. CC268

    CC268 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,524
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    CC268
    James go back to Dynon bruh
     
    James331 likes this.
  33. Ryan F.

    Ryan F. Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    595
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan Ferguson 1974
    Well, on the other hand, lots do (including mine.) The bigger issue is the coming wave of low-cost autopilots which offer, or will offer, complete integration with a PFD style ADI including a flight director. Garmin's GFC500 is an example of this. Among other things, that integration includes VNAV. When you go off-brand with these sorts of products you lose a lot of future upgradability and integration.

    Moving to the AV-30 DG, the G5 is of course an HSI, which offers a magnetometer source option, which the AV-30 does not. That alone is enough to keep the two units separate in terms of functionality and perceived benefit in the eyes of the user. Right now, one can hook up a G5 HSI to a GNS or GTN based panel and a legacy autopilot (mine is the Altimatic III, heh) and get GPSS via the GAD29B. That's an incredible level of capability for a few bucks.

    In the AV-30's favor, at least in terms of presentation, are a handful of extra features of varying value. Arc view in particular is something I've wanted for the G5 HSI for a while. A map mode might be desirable to some as well. But these are small extras that don't really move the needle too much, given the rather large gap in fundamental capability.

    They're still standalone instruments, at least at present, don't revert to each other, and the HSI is really billed more as a DG, which is a more truthful way of portraying it in my opinion. The company's value proposition appears to be price and standalone functionality. Like I said, this would be great for airplanes which don't have an AP now and may never have one in the panel. I'm thinking older flight school aircraft, 150/152s or even old 172s which aren't likely to ever have an autopilot installed -- heck, why not. This would be great for a few K in acquisition and another couple K in installation. But the price still ends up being close enough to a pair of G5s that the purchaser would have to be really sure that the savings justifies going off-brand for greatly reduced capability. Aircraft residual value still matters -- nobody owns an aircraft forever.
     
    James331 likes this.
  34. Ryan F.

    Ryan F. Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    595
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan Ferguson 1974
    You'd think! Actually, Garmin has been steadily upgrading the G5. As I mentioned in my previous post, I think the HSI would really benefit from an arc view. The screen's display real estate would really be maximized by an arc view. And why not a map mode while they're at it? I don't personally use that feature much but it would seem that all the data is flowing to and from the (required) GTN or GNS series Navigator in the panel. I'm hopeful they'll add this stuff over time.
     
  35. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,705
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Probeless AOA? I’m guessing it just warns you when your ‘pitch altitude’ gets steep. Are they really selling that as AOA?
     
  36. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,705
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    In their FAQ they say this:
    When interfaced to a GPS Navigator the DG can optionally operate in Track mode and no corrections will be required. For day to day operations, GPS track mode is generally preferred over heading.

    Occasionally when actual magnetic heading is required (ATC clearances in large cross-wind environments), the non-slaved DG is available, or simply use your wet compass for those operations.

    They are saying that ‘no big deal it’s not slaved. If you don’t want to bother setting the DG to the wet compass every now and then, then just leave it in Track Mode and use the wet compass when ATC starts vectoring you around.’
    ??????
     
  37. Ryan F.

    Ryan F. Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    595
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ryan Ferguson 1974
    Not sure how theirs works precisely, but my understanding is the guy behind this instrument was a co-founder of Aspen, which also sells a probe-less AOA product. (See: https://aerovonics.com/about-us ) Usually this form of AOA is a computational model based on some limited form of air data, sometimes including G-loading, combined with attitude information. When calibrated, the unit knows that combinations of pitch, airspeed, and G-loading will result in a given AOA (the G-load will assist in detecting accelerated stalls for example.)

    I have never dived deeply into the details of probe vs. probeless but my intuition suggests the former would be superior, albeit the latter could probably be pretty reliable in most "normal," conceivable flight scenarios.
     
  38. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,705
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Ah. Thanks for the info. It has indicated airspeed and a G meter along with pitch altitude, so now I can see how it could crunch some numbers and give an approximation of AOA.
     
  39. James331

    James331 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18,660
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    James331
    That does suck.

    Personally I was more just looking at the AI aspect
     
  40. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,594
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2

    Well I don't have an AP and right now its only for experimental and I'd rather have round than square. But this one interests me however its too late for me since my G5 arrived yesterday. I wonder what the price will be for certified aircraft.