Garmin 430 going missed and diverting

CerroTorre

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
CerroTorre
I've seen a couple threads on this general topic but have probably missed plenty. Apologies and feel free to direct me to any that you think answer this.

Does anyone know of a good video or instructions covering the best ways to swap over to an alternate on the 430 while busy/have gone missed? A couple different scenarios have been causing me some problems (sim practice).

- Assume only a single unit so no linked 430s.

- Main question: If you have gone missed and are in the hold, how to maintain the hold while reprogramming for the alternate and new approach.
- If you are missed and proceeding to the hold and the controller gives you a "proceed direct to..." before you have the alternate and approach programmed...

Some of this might come down to how you have the FPL programmed from the beginning. I'm still learning. IR flight training begins in February.

Thanks all.

You could go into the flight plan and add the new destination after the hold. Or ask for a vector to start heading that way and DTO new destination. Practice twisting the knobs and you’ll get to where you’re fast as greased lightning.

You could go into the flight plan and add the new destination after the hold. Or ask for a vector to start heading that way and DTO new destination. Practice twisting the knobs and you’ll get to where you’re fast as greased lightning.
Yeah, sounds like I may be overthinking it. Just adding the new destination and hitting suspend while in the hold.

I recently ran into the issue while about 15 seconds out from the hold entry. Poor planning on my part - I had requested to divert just prior to the hold entry, hadn't entered the new destination, and the IAF for the new approach was the hold waypoint. Led to a mad dash to reprogram and a temporary turn in the wrong direction. Basic task saturation problem from poor planning really.