Freedom During Intro Flights

Chandler Stainbrook

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Chandler Stainbrook
First of all, hello everyone.

At the end of this month, I'm taking an intro flight at Embry-Riddle in Prescott.

I'd like to know, how much freedom will I have in terms of taking on the duties as a pilot? Trimming, mixture, working the rudder, talking on the radio, the run up, those kinds of things.

It may or may not help to know that I have extensive experience taken seriously on my personal flight simulator at home (yoke, pedals, throttle quadrant, radios, lights and engine switches). I also have recently completed the Sporty's ground school course, as well have been learning about aviation and flying for many years prior.

Thank you for any constructive feedback you may have.

you'll probably 'have the opportunity' to do more than you think. it WON'T be because you walk into the FBO and say "I do flight sim at home". if you show you are completely incapable of doing stuff, you'll have the opportunity to do less than you think, otherwise you'll be flying the plane!

you'll probably 'have the opportunity' to do more than you think. it WON'T be because you walk into the FBO and say "I do flight sim at home". if you show you are completely incapable of doing stuff, you'll have the opportunity to do less than you think, otherwise you'll be flying the plane!
Haha no I won't say something like that, but that's nice to know. Thanks

If it's a "discovery" flight that's typical of most flight schools, they let you do the stick-n-rudder stuff for about 2/3rds of the flight, while they work the radios, throttle, etc. I think went I first went up at John Wayne, they let me fly the 45 into the pattern, then downwind, and before the base turn the CFI took the controls back.

A good discovery flight will have you do all those things. But it's ultimately the instructor's choice.