Flying Club Dilemma

Groundpounder

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Emerson Bigguns
I have a flying club dilemma that I'm hoping you could help me resolve.

I am currently in a FC that has a mid-70's 172. The airplane is in very good shape, the members treat it well, and we never skimp on maintenance. The aircraft is certified for IFR, but the only GPS it has is an old KLN-90B that was never installed in an IFR approved manner, and the database is way old. There is also no autopilot, and no form of backup attitude information, so even though I am a competent IFR pilot (I am a corporate pilot for a living) I am not comfortable flying this airplane IFR. Most of the members are VFR only pilots that use an iPad to navigate, so there is no big demand to make this aircraft a better IFR platform. The only modern piece of avionics is a Garmin transponder with ADS-B in/out. It has been proposed that we install a pair of Garmin G5's, but that has been "in the works" for a long time, and no progress has been made on it. Same can be said for installing a more capable GPS, like a Garmin 430 or one of the GTN family. Right now we have virtually no restrictions on how long or how often you can take the airplane. That has its pluses and minuses, which are fairly obvious, so I won't dive into them now.