Flight Following question

SoCal RV Flyer

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
SoCal RV Flyer
I'm relatively new to VFR flight following, and I have a question for an upcoming trip from SoCal to Chandler, AZ. When it's time to descend from cruising altitude, do I just state to ATC that I'm doing it, or request a descent, and what's the phraseology? Thanks!

Not required but I tell them.
"So and So Center, Cirrus xyz beginning my descent into such and such field"

My home airport is next to a Class D airport. Sometimes ATC will give me an altitude restriction and a specific heading to fly if a regional jet is coming in for landing. If given an altitude restriction, ask ATC for permission before starting your descent.

I agree with the above posters. If you've been given an altitude restriction ask for permission to start your decent. If they've just said "maintain VFR at or below 3500" or something similar than it isn't required but it's a good thing to jet give them a heads-up. When in doubt ask.

You SHOULD (AIM) tell them when you are changing your VFR cruising altitude but it's not that big of a deal. If they've got traffic and they're worried about you climbing / descending, they'll tell you "report any altitude changes."

Personally, I just make a quick broadcast that I'm descending.

I let them know when I begin a climb or descent. Some controllers will let you know to advise them prior to altitude changes.

Not required but I tell them.
"So and So Center, Cirrus xyz beginning my descent into such and such field"

Sometime I use that phrase as a hint for them to let me squawk 1200 and change frequency.

Some controllers don't even want to be told.

But I do it regardless, unless the frequency is swamped.

If there is an altitude restriction, you do have to ask. Unless the restriction is "at or below."

My "code" for a frequency change is "field in sight." I don't do a lot of MVFR. For IFR, it's not an issue.