Different ways of Logging pic time a instructor?

Anonymouspireps

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Anonymouspireps
Hey fellow pilots! Here’s an interesting scenario based question, it’s my first post so go easy on me lol.
Let’s say that I’m a multi engine flight instructor who owns a piper Seminole!
And got a buddy of mine who is a commercial multi engine rated pilot who needs to build his hours for the airlines.
And let’s say that I’m flying my piper Seminole xc from San Diego to Tampa Florida for fun!
My plan is to provide instruction to my buddy to help him be a better pilot along the way to Tampa florida.

My buddy is a low time pilot!(even though he is already a commercial multi pilot)
On what I know,
My buddy can log total time, pic, xc, me time and dual received
While me being the instructor can log total time, pic, xc, multi time and also dual given
Am i wrong somewhere above or am I right?
Many thanks in advance

Is your buddy going to be the sole manipulator of the controls for the entire trip? Maybe you will log the legs differently?

edit: hm maybe that doesn’t apply for an MEI situation... I will let the resident experts weigh in.

Before asking the question, did you review 61.51?
Yup I already did! My conclusion is written on the bottom of the question, but just wanted everyone else’s opinion just in case!

The answer is "yes", BUT there is a very important caveat.

If he's logging dual received, and you are therefore logging dual given, there really needs to be some bona fide instruction going on. What's the test for this? Well, there is none, unless you get called in front of the FAA to explain it - which actually has happened before, as I recall it was pretty much this exact scenario. I believe the FAA did not look kindly on the two pilots were were basically just both logging time with no real instruction either necessary or being given. Hopefully someone else can provide the details.