Cross-country time

AnnaG

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
AnnaG
I'm a fairly recent Private Pilot, just starting my instrument training under Part 91.

The question I have relates to the 50-hour cross-country time requirement. And specifically, to this:

If I am flying with another pilot (not an instructor) in a complex single-engine (Mooney) and he "gives" me the cross-country PIC time - can I use that time as part of my cross-country requirements?

What I can't figure out is whether I can officially log time in a complex aircraft, even though I am not rated for that aircraft?

Or do I need to stick to my trusty 172 for all of my log-able cross-country flight time?

If I am flying with another pilot (not an instructor) in a complex single-engine (Mooney) and he "gives" me the cross-country PIC time - can I use that time as part of my cross-country requirements?

I don't see why not. The regulation specifies Pilot in Command time. It does not specify what KIND of PIC time. (Unless, of course, I am missing something)

What I can't figure out is whether I can officially log time in a complex aircraft, even though I am not rated for that aircraft?

Well, you ARE rated, if you hold a PP Single engine Land. You just are not endorsed. Two separate things. So yeah, you can log it as long as your friend can actually act as PIC. I will let someone else get nit picky here, as I am sure they will.

Or do I need to stick to my trusty 172 for all of my log-able cross-country flight time?

Not necessary. However, I suspect you won't get a whole lot of PIC Mooney time.

But here's a thought. Why not get your friend to let you get a complex endorsement in his plane? That would make all of the above pretty much moot.

Provided you are the "sole manipulator of the controls" for the flight, including the takeoff and landing, you can use that as PIC time.

Now, if your friend flies the plane and "gives" you the PIC time, that's a different matter.