CREATION OF A FLIGHT SCHOOL

Oscar Tovar

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Blackjack76
hello to all friends from heaven, I have been reading during the last days several posts on the page and I really like the website a lot. for this reason I wanted to write to you looking for help to clarify some doubts that I have.

It is my desire to invest in any aeronautical issue in Florida, I am a pilot and I know very well the regulations of my country, unlike the FAA regulations. I have thought about creating a part 61 flight school but I do not know the minimum requirements to do so, I have considered the option of buying one plane and having another one through leaseback. I have tried a few numbers and it may be beneficial but I am not clear about the legal establishment of a school.
I know that it is very important to hire advisers and consultants but first of all I would like to know if it is possible or not, how complex it would be to start and then whether to make the decision.
I would like to read them and take into account the extensive experience that all of you have.

It is important for me to know your opinions, I would be very grateful for it.

There are no special requirements for a Part 61 school. The airport probably has Minimum Standards for Operation. Existing flight schools may not be happy about your competition so make sure to have a conversation with the airport manager as early as possible.

Thank you very much for your answer, it is clear that the coordination with the airport must be made in order to operate and of course I will follow your advice to make contact. As I was telling you, it is a premature idea but already somewhat structured and I love reading that part 61 has no major inconvenience to start

Requirements for creating an FAA Part 61 school:
1) Cash. Lots of it. Or a very good line of credit.
2) CFIs that are very good teachers. Just because you passed the CFI exam doesn't mean you're a good teacher.
3) See #1.