Chicago to Keys

czodzy

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Andre
Hi there,
I am new to flying, just recently got my PPL, and was wondering how crazy or not it is to fly from Chicago to Florida Keys in Cessna 150? How long will it take me, is it more than just a weekend trip?

You're probably looking at 10 hours each way. It would be a fun trip as long as you plan it carefully.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

I don’t think so at all! One of the reasons we get our PPL, to do such cool things, no? I haven’t done any long trips yet, as I’m still working on my license...but definitely in the plans! I want fly to Mexico, and the Caribbean...hell, someday I wanna fly around the world!! And it’s gonna be in a C182! Plan it well, and it’ll be a blast!

Flying after you get your ppl isnt crazy. Congratulations!

The practical aspects such as concentration, well being of the pilot over the trips (both ways), where to stop for fuel - hotels and logistics around a long journey (work?), contingency, WEATHER and airspace planning, alternates, aircraft tec issues, paperwork etc,etc should be thought about (which you know from your training)

Hi there,
I am new to flying, just recently got my PPL, and was wondering how crazy or not it is to fly from Chicago to Florida Keys in Cessna 150? How long will it take me, is it more than just a weekend trip?

A long xc is just a bunch of short xc trips. Just pay attention to weather and TFR's and you will do fine.

Myeh...just do it.
Be careful of getting stranded due to weather...
Otherwise is is a fantastic adventure.

As long as you don't put too much time pressure on yourself, it should be a fun trip. If you do go, take pics and tell us all about it!

At least a week. Plan on getting stuck a day or two here or there for weather.

But in a big, fast, 150, shouldn't be a big deal. (Having flown from Detroit to Alaska in a Cessna 120)