Carb ice? (and beating myself up...)

Lndwarrior

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Gary
I've been flying recreationally for over 30 years. Mind you 20 of those was pretty much the same 1 hour flight.

I'm on multiple aviation forums every single day, multiple times, for years now. I read all the accident reports. I use checklists (mostly). I am extremely safety conscious.

And today I was (mostly) an idiot - and my precious wife was in the plane.

Plane is my homebuilt Zenith CH601 XLB with an Lyco O-235-C1 engine, MA-3A carb, dual electric fuel pumps. I've put almost 600 hours on on her.

Today, wifey and I decide to take a scenic flight over the foothills of the Sierras where we live. We take off from Pine Mountain Lake (E45), marvel at the snow-capped Sierra's in the near distance, and cruise over Don Pedro Reservoir around 5000 feet agl.. Plane is running great in the cool, smooth air. The foothills are green and beautiful. I practice some slow flight as we head toward Calaveras County Airport and decide to do a landing. Prior to landing I pull the carb heat, as always, and make a decent landing.

We take off again, heading back to E45, with the power set at 2450 cruise rpm. We're up about 4000 agl just past Columbia Airport when I get the feeling the engine is running just a little rough. Am I imagining this? I pay more attention and it does seem like its running not quite right. So push the throttle in watching the tach to get it up to 2600 rpm or so. There's a slight stumble, but zero rpm increase.

I pull the throttle back and then forward again and the same thing happens. The engine does sound a little rough (though my wife did not notice it) but there is definitely something wrong with the engine. I pull the power back to 2400 and it seems reasonably smooth.

Yeah, with the clouds forming below us, temps in the low 40s, every damn rookie pilot in the world is thinking, "Pull the carb heat, idiot!".

Guess what I didn't do???