Aviation Knowledge Question

Crashnburn

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Crashnburn
I’m studying Aviation Knowledge in preparation for restarting flight training. I’m looking at a Landing Distance table. A note says”Add 20%of the ‘total to clear 50 foot obstacle’ to both the total to clear and the ground roll for dry grass. “

How does the distance from the obstacle to the touchdown point affect the stopping distance on the dry grass? I know it adds a safety margin, but is that note correct, or should it say 20% of the ground roll? Thanks

My guess would be by making the correction based on a percentage of the distance over an obstacle they were able to use a round number, 20%, which is easy to calculate in your head. If it was based on a percentage of the ground roll distance then the percentage would have been higher, and likely not close enough to an even 10% to be rounded to an even 10%.

Thanks. That’s possible, but you’d always have a margin if you round it up to the next highest 10%. I can see why you add it to both distances.

Hmmm... sounds like it’s a correction for dry grass vs hard surface? Which would make sense, less stopping power on grass than a hard surface.

Hmmm... sounds like it’s a correction for dry grass vs hard surface? Which would make sense, less stopping power on grass than a hard surface.
Yeah, but why add 20% to the 50 feet to touchdown distance? That distance is a constant because it has nothing to do with the runway surface.

Oh, I see... ya, no clue.

Can ya post a link to that table?