ATIS v. ASOS v. AWOS

midwestpa24

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
midwestpa24
I feel the need to post this to help inform. As an airport operator I feel there is some misinformation about the information available on each of these systems.

ATIS: Automated Terminal Information System
ATIS is usually only found at towered airports, and is a recording giving the winds and pertinent NOTAMs and other information pilots may need about the airport.

ASOS: Automated Surface Observation System
ASOS is a automated machine owned by the National Weather Service that provides current weather information. It does not have the ability to give out NOTAMs or any other information.

AWOS: Automated Weather Observation System
AWOS is similar to an ASOS, but is usually owned by the state or the airport. It provides most of the same information as an ASOS. Some new ones do have the ability to add voice information to the broadcast regarding NOTAMs, but not all.

This comes to light, because I've had many pilots at my ASOS equipped airport tell me, "Well that NOTAM wasn't on the ATIS." It is very important to understand the capabilities and the limitations, and why these three information sources are not the same.

Thanks! - nowhere have I seen this explained so clearly and logically.

I've seen a bit of what you have. AWOS vs ASOS, especially since they are so similar and there are multiple flavors with varying capabilities, is not that big a deal.

But I've heard a fair number of pilots tune into an AWOS or ASOS broadcast and refer to it as "getting the ATIS." It may well just be a universal generic term in their minds (like "Kleenex" meaning "facial tissue") but it is important to understand there are major differences.