Any tips for 300nm Cross Country for commercial?

Diamonds

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
James
Hello fellow pilots. Long time lurker here and first post.

I am an instrument rated private pilot currently working towards commercial. I’m at a point where I will be completing the 300nm cross country requirement.

My proposed route is KLOU - KPDK - KCHA - KXNX - KLOU. I have spent most of my flying around KY Indiana, Ohio, and Nashville (no further south than there in TN). This will be the longest flight I’ve been on and the furthest south I’ve gone. My flight takes me right over higher terrain in the Chattanooga area. The Smokey Mountains are about 80 miles east of CHA. I’ve never flown above or around mountains. That being said, is this a flight I should take or should I get training in mountain flying first? I do not intend to fly over the Smokies and will not route my flight any further east than Chattanooga. Is there a difference between flying over hilly terrain and mountains? I’m thinking of factors such mountain wave, turbulence, downdrafts, updrafts etc.

Another question I have is in regards to how to flight is logged. My home airport is not LOU but an airport further south. LOU to PDK is at least 250nm straight line but my home airport to PDK falls just short of that requirement. I was thinking of starting the flight at LOU to take care of the 250nm straight line distance. I know you have to land at three points. Does the trip have to end at the same airport you begin at in order to count? Can I just fly back to my home airport at the end or do I have to fly to LOU, touch and go, and then return home? My main priority is to see Atlanta on this trip so I want to be able to spend the most time there. That’s why i want to go to PDK.