Advice for pursuing helicopter PPL?

Redpen

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Redpen
Hi folks, Im ready to start actively pursuing my PPL (H) and Im desperate for any help I can get, particularly with choosing a school in the NoVa region. I've been studying rotorwing physics on my own for several years, and I hope to go towards a CPL(H). My limiting factor is cost, I have enough to most likely cover the private but nothing beyond that. Frankly Im concerned that Ill end up licensed, broke, and out of options. The army isnt an option unfortunately due to food allergies (but I can still obtain my air medical cert).

With that said, is there any steps I should take going into this to get started, and are there any schools that offer a program to train their own CFIs, or something similar?

My current plan is to charge hamfistedly into a random flight school throwing money at them and hopefully making some connections :D

Thank you immensely for your time.

With that said, is there any steps I should take going into this to get started, and are there any schools that offer a program to train their own CFIs, or something similar?

Proceed with extreme caution. I am still paying off the debt from the Silver State Helicopters pyramid scheme. Somehow I was one of the many who did not "qualify" for total debt forgiveness. I ended up with zero certificates while the shysters collected $4M+ to work out a "fair" agreement.

:mad:

Do you want to progress and have this as your job or just as a hobby?

Understand the Army already said no to you (I assume you asked).

If you showed up to the coast guard with your private in hand, would they take you so you'd build hours that way?

I ended up with zero certificates while the shysters collected $4M+ to work out a "fair" agreement.

That's absolutely insane. Another reason Im so paranoid about this. Sorry to hear they got you.

Do you want to progress and have this as your job or just as a hobby?