ADHD Child

U

Unregistered

Ok my child was diagnose with ADHD 6 years ago and he just turned 12. I'm not sure if I agree with what the Dr said but anyway. He is really interested in airplanes and flying in general. I cringe the day I have to tell him he cannot be a pilot. I believe he can be a pilot to some degree with Gliders, Balloons, Ultra lights but I'm not sure about Sport Pilot. I think I have ADHD so I know where he might get it from but haven't seen a Dr about it. I do not want to loose my Medical over something I'm in control of. I fly PPSEL and manage to fly an airplane just fine. I'm also a IT professional so I learned how to focus and not be distracted.
He has been on Medication for ADHD but we took him off of it a couple years ago. We have found other ways to manage his ADHD symptoms. I don't expect him to be a professional pilot but I will encourage him to fly for his own per enjoyment and not make flying a Job. When he gets older around 16 I want him to be reevaluated by a different DR for ADHD.
I also read 10% of children have ADHD. That is heck of a lot of kids that cannot be pilots either private or professional.

The point of this thread is to find out if other parents are in the same boat with their ADHD child and what their thoughts are.

Please try to keep this thread civil and to the point.

Thank you.

He is 12. He has 5 years until the PPL. Lets see how treatment goes and cross that bridge down the road. Nothing says he "cant" yet

My opinion

Don't tell him he ever had it and let him fill out the medical application. That is the best option. Or if he doesn't have 'it' he can test out, costs some money and has the chance of sinking the sp option. I use 'it' as it may not exist.