Additional pilot rejected by lender

Ly Tran

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
L.Tran
Hello everyone,

My friend is buying an airplane and we having an issue right now. I’ll try to explain it short:

- I am a private pilot.
- My friend is a student pilot, buying and financing the aircraft.
- My friend can not be PIC yet so I will be PIC. Insurance approved both of us as designated pilots.
- The lender now said they will not allow that and asked to remove my name out of the insurance policy, unless: I am his CFI, or have to be on the loan.

So, my question are:
- Does it make sense at all? What happened to people whose bought airplane but only let others fly it?
- Any workaround ideas?
- Any lender that does not have this policy?

Thank you!

If you're committed to this lender, I'd call an attorney familiar with banking laws in the state and ask them if such a restriction is legal. I suspect it is not. The plane is insured, if anything happens, the bank is protected. It isn't being used commercially, the insurance policy is likely recreational/(personal) business. If it isn't a written restriction in the loan docs, it also isn't legally enforceable, so you could go ahead and be removed for now, then add back in after the loan is closed.

Sometimes businesses like to have policies about stuff they don't know better about. The key is knowing whether it is something that would hold up in court.

I think what the insurance doesn’t like is you being named as a holder of the policy. If a wind storm flips the plane, the insurance settlement will be made in both names on the policy. Buy a renters insurance policy or buy into the plane.