A&P progression

Timbeck2

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Timbeck2
I've ordered study materials for the three tests. I was a jet engine mechanic for 10 years in the Air Force and I don't know how much that will help as far as getting my certificate. Anyway, my question is: Say I pass the tests, would the "normal" progression be to apprentice for an AI? Is there a DPE equivalent for mechanics?

I am a little fuzzy on the details but your airforce experience will only qualify you for the powerplant test. You are going to need someone to sign you off on it. As far as the IA you need to be an active Ap for a few years to even be eliligible. Also to stay current you have to sign of multiple annuals a year or take a class.

I've ordered study materials for the three tests. I was a jet engine mechanic for 10 years in the Air Force and I don't know how much that will help as far as getting my certificate. Anyway, my question is: Say I pass the tests, would the "normal" progression be to apprentice for an AI? Is there a DPE equivalent for mechanics?

Yes, and a practical test that you will need to spend a day or so doing with them in addition to the written.

Three years as a working A&P before you can take the test for IA (Inspection Authorization, not the other way around).

My last boss was a Designated Mechanic Examiner for many years. Based on what he has told me about the recent graduates of A&P schools, you don't want to become one. Those kids wouldn't know Shinola if they could open the can.

I have no ambitions to become an IA, I just wanted to know if I need to apprentice under one or any other options that others may know.

To be clear, I want to get my A&P certificate. I know I have to take at least 3 FAA tests. Beyond that, I don't know much of anything.*

*Other than I'm a decent wrench and aren't afraid of getting my hands dirty.

Last edited:
Thanks for that link Brian, I especially like the paragraph: