A&P currency

saltshaker80

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Saltshaker80
I got my A&P years ago through Embry Riddle after working on helicopters in the military. I didn’t use the license in any way in the years following.
I am now a pilot / aircraft owner with a commercial rating. I’ve been doing maintenance as permitted under part 43 as an owner operator.
Most maintenance and inspections, especially more complex jobs I would never consider doing, however there are some jobs I would consider myself to be qualified to perform.
As far as currency is concerned, since I have been doing regular maintenance as an owner/operator for several years now, Is my A&P license current?
I honestly never know which title to list when I make an oil change entry, A&P or Pilot.

Is my A&P license current?
FWIW: Technically, there are "recent experience" requirements in order to use your A&P certificate per Part 65.83. There is also no official tracking requirement for that experience. And to add, Part 65.81 comes into play as well when it comes to what tasks you can perform. However, understanding what governs the situation is the key point, but how you interpret things is up to you.;)

As you would normally do....get someone to "supervise" you on a new task. I did this when I was away from aviation for 15 years. After a few months of "supervision" you are good to go without "supervision".

The A&P cert never expires. Also....after two years of recent experience you are "entitled" to take the IA tests. I encourage you to do that.

§ 65.91 Inspection authorization.

(a) An application for an inspection authorization is made on a form and in a manner prescribed by the Administrator.
(b) An applicant who meets the requirements of this section is entitled to an inspection authorization.
(c) To be eligible for an inspection authorization, an applicant must—