50 hours of cross-country

TK211X

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Him
50 hours of cross-country flight time as pilot in command, of which 10 hours must have been in an airplane

Can that be any old cross country time? Like, would a direct 53NM VFR flight count? Or does it have to have an Instrument approach with an instructor?

50 hours of cross-country flight time as pilot in command, of which 10 hours must have been in an airplane

Can that be any old cross country time? Like, would a direct 53NM VFR flight count? Or does it have to have an Instrument approach with an instructor?
It can be VFR or IFR. I started training with about 40 hours PIC X country and we did about 10 hours IFR X country.

AFAIK the time spent during PPL must be solo XC PIC and not dual with an instructor. After PPL, it can be XC dual PIC with a CFI or safety pilot.

Yes, it can be "any old cross country time" that meets the >50 NM landing requirement and during which you were authorized to log PIC time.

What in the wording of the requirement makes you think it is something other than that?

I forgot about this requirement and at about 3pm the day before my checkride I realized I was 5 hours short and took a cessna 150 from el paso to sante fe and back to get those hours ended up being 5.5. The FAA guy made a comment about how I might have been able to drive faster but didn't care

Doesn't matter if it's VFR or IFR XC time.

We did almost all of my IFR training as XC time to make sure that I met the 50. Additionally, I'm a big believer in scenario based training, where you spend most of the time training the way you'll actually fly. When you have an instrument rating, it's to go places, not to fly around the pattern. So, go places in your training!

Doesn't matter if it's VFR or IFR XC time.