you're number 2...

rdill

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
rdill
Hey y'all, I'm a relatively new private pilot and wonder if you might enlighten me on whether I or the ATC (or both) screwed up here. Flying into a busy executive airport in class C, VFR, daytime, and the comms went like this;

Initial setup is I'm 5nm east, inbound for full stop, about 300 ft above pattern alt. Had flight following before entering the class C, continued with same squawk all the way in. Call sign was used in all comms.

ATC to me: Enter a left base for 19.

Me: Wilco, left base for 19. (continue descent to pattern alt, and maintain my heading, since he already had me on heading for the left base)

ATC to me: (at this point I am about 2nm from my turn to final) you'll be #2 after the traffic on downwind.

Me: Understand #2 after traffic on downwind, I am currently on left base, looking for traffic.

(It was unclear to me at this point whether the guy on downwind was a slow plane flying a tight pattern and in front of me, or a turbine above and behind me. Soon, I was at my turn, runway is clear, I see no traffic anywhere)

Me: I'm turning final, I still do not have traffic in sight.

ATC: (pause...) Traffic is on short final you are #2

Me: (realizing he has us reversed) I am the plane on short final, do I have permission to land or do you need me to go around?

ATC: go ahead and land, you must have cut him off

Me: Roger, continuing.

ATC to me: (i'm on rollout) expedite exiting runway

Me: Roger .... clear all runways. (other guy lands)