WingX V9 preview

Discussion in 'Flight Following' started by Scrabo, Jan 10, 2019.

  1. FastEddieB

    FastEddieB Final Approach

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,898
    Location:
    Mineral Bluff, GA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Fast Eddie B
    Probably not a factor 99% of the time, but one may not wish to choose an update with an effective date still in the future if one is planning to fly in the interim. Rare, but it may improperly reflect frequency or other changes not yet in effect.
     
  2. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9,548
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    True. But WingX allows you to have more than one installed and select which is active and which is on standby. So for this update, grab both if you are going to fly today.
     
  3. Clip4

    Clip4 En-Route

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    3,996
    Location:
    A Rubber Room
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cli4ord
    Downloaded the new version, yawn, it took them how to roll out these very minor improvements?
     
  4. Wrench978

    Wrench978 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Wrench978
    I haven't flown with it yet, but I am a little disappointed. it seems "clunky". not smooth, and it defaults me to Oshkosh. I need to hit the location button for it to go to me.
     
  5. wrbix

    wrbix Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,677
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pilot Lite
    Oshkosh....yeah, think it always did that until first GPS fix
     
  6. Wrench978

    Wrench978 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Wrench978

    Yeah, any time I don't have a GPS signal, it defaults there.
     
  7. Scrabo

    Scrabo Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,907
    Location:
    PHX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Scrabo
    Agreed but the new mapping engine opens up possibilities for vector maps, addition countries etc

    Re the “clunky” comment, it was for me the first few times but it did seem to improve upon each startup, maybe it’s caching better, but once loaded on the iPad, it seems to move smoothly enough
     
  8. Scrabo

    Scrabo Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,907
    Location:
    PHX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Scrabo
  9. Wrench978

    Wrench978 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Wrench978
    yes. Its getting better. Also, I realized that it defaulted my settings back to having "snap to location" off. all is well here. Now I just need to get up flying... Although I don't see that happening soon. Also, Im a little bummed that I can't get Puerto rico IFR charts.
     
  10. FastEddieB

    FastEddieB Final Approach

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,898
    Location:
    Mineral Bluff, GA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Fast Eddie B
    In the car, traveling south. TRACK UP not working.
     
  11. FastEddieB

    FastEddieB Final Approach

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,898
    Location:
    Mineral Bluff, GA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Fast Eddie B
    OK. I had no track selected. I just assumed in the lack of one it would default to heading. Apparently not.
     
  12. wrbix

    wrbix Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,677
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pilot Lite
    Still no joy on renaming pdf’s in documents. :(

    One would think this would be an easy fix/upgrade. Guess not a high priority.
     
  13. Scrabo

    Scrabo Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,907
    Location:
    PHX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Scrabo
    What I do is have the documents saved to my computer hard drive - there you can rename them then follow the procedure found in the user generated guide. Then sync afterwards. This is particular handy if you have to either uninstall and reinstall or after a complete reset of the iDevice.

    Doc_load1.JPG
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2019
  14. wrbix

    wrbix Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,677
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pilot Lite
    Thanks, good ideas there....but I’m inherently lazy, and think it would be an easy task to allow it within WingX
     
  15. Scrabo

    Scrabo Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,907
    Location:
    PHX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Scrabo
    "I’m inherently lazy," - it take 30 seconds man !! :)

    It's always good practice to have backups of those documents, there has been a few times my iDevice when Tango Uniform and I lost documents that I didn't have copies off. It also allows me to have the same documents on both iPad's and the iPhone as a backup.
     
  16. wrbix

    wrbix Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,677
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Pilot Lite
    Yeah, yeah, now you’re sounding like my wife.....I’ll get to it.
    You also don’t understand how computer illiterate I am...takes me forever just to turn on (“boot up”?) my desktop.....but I digress. ;)
     
  17. JohnAJohnson

    JohnAJohnson Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,139
    Location:
    Gulf Shores, AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JohnAJohnson
    The guy is giving you free usage of the product. If you are going to publicly call it inferior, have the decency to quit using it.
     
    labbadabba likes this.
  18. buzzard86

    buzzard86 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Warrington, PA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim R
    I didn’t see any hardware requirements before trying to download version 9, but be careful as it’s not compatible with older iPad models and WingX 7 Pro is no longer available in the App Store. I deleted version 7 in the process of trying to upgrade, but fortunately managed to find a way to reinstall.
     
  19. Scrabo

    Scrabo Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,907
    Location:
    PHX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Scrabo
    ..."but fortunately managed to find a way to reinstall."

    Care to share ? It used to be possible using iTunes when apps were still managed within iTunes but with v12 of iTunes Apple removed it
     
  20. buzzard86

    buzzard86 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Warrington, PA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim R
    I found and reinstalled the old v7 through roughly this process:

    App Store -> Updates -> Purchased -> “Not on this iPad” tab -> WingX 7 Pro -> Cloud Arrow icon

    The “not on this iPad” list seemed to be the key to seeing the old version. Otherwise, it kept pointing me to V9 in the App Store which gave the incompatible message when I tried to install. Not sure what version of iTunes I have, but this reinstalled Wx7 which had been working perfectly on my admittedly old iPad mini.

    -Jim
     
  21. Joe Christian

    Joe Christian Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, 6 miles SE of Tinker AFB
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Joe Christian
    Just flew new version for the first time Saturday. Not much difference, except I didn't see any traffic with WingX. FlyQ was showing lots of traffic. Using Skyradar DX. I've never seen 978 traffic on WingX, but the ones I wasn't seeing yesterday are all 1090 aircraft from the OUN flight school. According to Hilton at Oshkosh last year, he hasn't been able to get the folks at Skyradar to help him with not seeing 978 traffic. Doesn't seem to affect FlyQ however?

    Guess I'm getting closer to dropping WingX; real shame as I'm a long time user and love the app.

    Joe
     
  22. Martin Pauly

    Martin Pauly Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Martin Pauly
    Hmm, I wonder what help he needs, given that earlier versions of WingX Pro showed traffic from the Skyradar just fine. That's the receiver I used before I installed the Lynx in my panel.

    I have flown with the new WingX version, and found no issues with the display of traffic (driven by the Lynx). Other than the ability to preload a new database version, which is nice, I haven't really seen anything new in this version that wowed me.
     
  23. Joe Christian

    Joe Christian Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, 6 miles SE of Tinker AFB
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Joe Christian
    With the previous version of WingX I could see 1090 traffic but not 978 traffic using the Skyradar DX. I have a friend whose plane is 978 only equipped. I could see him on FlyQ but not WingX. With the new version of WingX I'm not getting any traffic with the Skyradar DX, but I see them ok on FlyQ. I'm flying again this afternoon and will try it again.
     
  24. Roger Elowitz

    Roger Elowitz Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Roger
    Hi All,

    I'm a newbie here but not to aviation. I have a SEL-PPL (since 1960) with an Instrument rating and I fly a Piper Dakota P28-236. I've been using WingX for about six years now and have loved it. I use it with a SkyRadar Dual Band ADS-b receiver. A few weeks ago WingX moved from Version 8.8.1.5 to the newest Version 9.0.1.1. When I upgraded, first thing I noticed was that the map land color changed and then all the off-shore coastlines got fuzzy. Same for all the lakes and rivers. The next thing I noticed was that all my weather and traffic had disappeared! Yeow! Getting through to Hilton's WingX support was impossible (possibly because of Sun-n-Fun). I was having the same problem on both my iPad mini's with iOs 12.2. However, my iPhone7 with iOs 12.2 had not been updated to WingX 9.0.1.1. It was still running the older Version 8.8.1.5 and I was getting the old maps with all the traffic and weather. Finally, after days and days of calling (during SnF) I got through to Carlos in tech support and he verified that WingX was indeed having a software problem and that they were indeed working on it. No... they couldn't re-issue the old software version... and most irritatingly, they haven't taken down the new version that is causing the problem. So, anyone who is late to update their software will soon find they are out of luck! I find this all INEXCUSABLE!!!

    So... I decided to get a trial version of ForeFlight and learn a whole new software package. Unfortunately, ForeFlight has its issues with the SkyRadar receiver. ForeFlight won't talk about the competitor's ADS-b receiver. They say... to contact the receiver's manufacturer which I did. I just spoke to Alexy at SkyRadar and he admitted they're not doing much these days with the SkyRadar receiver. They've "moved on." I told him ForeFlight claims they use the GDL-90 protocol standard and SkyRadar also uses the same GDL-90 protocol. Alexy says there, in fact, may be some critical differences. I sent him the ForeFlight set of standards to review. Haven't heard back... yet.

    This is an intollerable situation. WingX programmers screwed up an upgrade and can't fix it rapidly. They don't take down the upgrade that's causing everyone problems. The SkyRadar receiver which continues to work well with the old version of WingX won't work with the new version and may, in fact, be incompatible with ForeFlight... and ForeFlight and SkyRadar aren't talking to each other.

    Therefore, I decided to upgrade my Garmin GTX-33ES remote receiver (ADS-b OUT ONLY) to a Garmin GTX-345R (In and Out). Not happening so fast. Avionics shops are now quoting a six to eight month backlog of work.

    Something is just plain ROTTEN IN DENMARK. It's like watching a whole system going to Hell in a handbasket.

    Can anyone add anything helpful?

    Best,

    Roger Elowitz
     
  25. Scrabo

    Scrabo Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,907
    Location:
    PHX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Scrabo
    I flew yesterday with the SkyRadar Dual Band ADS-b receiver running on the latest version of WingX on an iPad mini 4 running iOS12.2 with no issues - curious to see screen shots of the issues you are seeing, particularly the "all the off-shore coastlines got fuzzy."

    Actually here is a screen shot from yesterday

    IMG_3549.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2019
  26. Roger Elowitz

    Roger Elowitz Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Roger
    Hi Scrabo,
    Here's the screenshot I just took at home without connection to my SkyRadar receiver which would have made no difference. Can you see the fuzzy shorelines? Of course, no traffic and weather:
    Roger
    upload_2019-4-15_20-44-53.png
     
  27. Scrabo

    Scrabo Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,907
    Location:
    PHX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Scrabo
    See what you mean, with only the terrain selected it is not sharp at the edges.
     

    Attached Files:

  28. Roger Elowitz

    Roger Elowitz Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Roger
    Correct. And the more you zoom in... the fuzzier it gets. The fact that you are using the latest version of WingX software on iOS 12.2 has me terribly puzzled. Whatever you do... don't change a thing. I have no idea what's going on.
    BTW... I love your quote from Blade Runner.
    Best,
    Roger
     
  29. Wrench978

    Wrench978 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Wrench978

    It looks like you don’t have the maps downloaded for that area. Make sure you have current maps
     
  30. Roger Elowitz

    Roger Elowitz Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Roger
    Hi Scrabo,
    I would agree with you... so I just checked and found all downloads are "current." Since I am in the Southeast, I made sure I have those maps. In addition, I have 33gb of memory available. Thanks for the suggestion. I'm still baffled. I think WingX is also baffled. I have the exact same problem on my wife's Mini4 Ipad. Best, Roger
     
  31. Roger Elowitz

    Roger Elowitz Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Roger
    Hi Scrabo,
    Just to be sure my basemap database wasn't corrupted I deleted the basemap and re-installed it. Sadly, SAME RESULT.
    Roger
     
  32. Joe Christian

    Joe Christian Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, 6 miles SE of Tinker AFB
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Joe Christian
    I also have a Skyradar DX that I use with the new version of WingX running on an iPad Air 2. I'm not ADS-B out equipped so only see traffic that is near enough for me to see directly. Even with the old version of WingX I've never been able to see 1090 traffic. I spoke with Hilton at Oshkosh last year and he said this was a known bug with the Skyradar interface. I started running FlyQ in addition to WingX and would switch to it periodically to see if there was any 1090 traffic that I was missing on WingX. Now that I'm running the new version of WingX, I don't see any traffic. I'm still getting ADS-B weather, however. I also spoke with someone at WingX and they said it was indeed a known bug when using the Skyradar DX and that they were working on it.

    I now use FlyQ as my primary app, and switch to WingX when I need to get information that is not as available on FlyQ. I still prefer WingX and hope they get it going. I will be installing a Stratus ES transponder with associated Stratus 3i ADS-B receiver soon. I hope that the 3i will allow me to again use WingX as primary.

    WingX needs to aggressively pursue this bug!
     
  33. Scrabo

    Scrabo Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,907
    Location:
    PHX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Scrabo
    How are you distinguishing what is 1090 traffic on WingX ?
     
  34. Joe Christian

    Joe Christian Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, 6 miles SE of Tinker AFB
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Joe Christian
    No way that I know of to distinguish 1090 from 978 on WingX. I discovered that I wasn't seeing 1090 aircraft when I was flying in very loose formation with a friend who was 1090 equipped but wasn't seeing him on WingX. Loud and clear on FlyQ. I started comparing WingX and FlyQ and realized that I was seeing much more traffic on FlyQ. As I mentioned previously, I asked Hilton about the problem at Oshkosh last year and he said that there was a problem with the WingX / Skyradar DX interface on 1090. Didn't indicate that it was on their "to do" list however.
     
  35. Joe Christian

    Joe Christian Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, 6 miles SE of Tinker AFB
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Joe Christian
    I'm sorry, I just realized that I had it backwards. Before the latest update to WingX, I couldn't see 978 traffic but could see 1090. After the update, I can't see either. My friend was equipped with 978, not 1090.
     
  36. Scrabo

    Scrabo Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,907
    Location:
    PHX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Scrabo
    Just found an old WingX article online from 2012 - "The traffic display works with SkyRadar, a separate ADS-B receiver, and initially displays 1090 MHz traffic. Support for the other ADS-B frequency (978 MHz) is expected later this year."

    Looks like 7 years later Hilton still hasn't figured it out... :(
     
  37. Roger Elowitz

    Roger Elowitz Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Roger
    Before I recently upgraded WingX to v.9.0.1.1 I was receiving both 978-mhz and 1090-mhz traffic using SkyRadar's dual band receiver. Today, using my iPhone7 running the previous version of WingX (8.8.1.5) the sky over central Florida was filled with traffic targets. However, at 7500-ft my ForeFlight software saw NOTHING! ZILCH! NADA! The upper left corner of the display said "No Data, ADS-b GOOD." I was surely within range of lots of towers. "Traffic" was selected in the layers tab. I was just wondering if this is an issue with ForeFlight not accepting the signal protocol GDL 90 being put out by the SkyRadar receiver? Hey, ForeFlight has (I believe) a proprietary interest in the Stratus and Sentry receivers and if I want to use their software I will most likely have to use their "recommended" receivers. Is there anyone out there using the SkyRadar dual band receiver (with AHRS?) and successfully using it with ForeFlight software? I was hoping to avoid buying another ADS-b receiver just to use some software. Roger