What to do with carbon fiber

bnt83

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Brian
I was thinking about building small box that clips onto the glareshield that would hold my phone/ipad whatnot and prevent them from sliding around on top of the instrument panel and into my new windshield.

I could make some interior trims instrument panel overlay with it too, assuming its easy enough to bend & shape as needed. I've never worked with it before so I'm not sure what to expect. Its 2 x 2 twill 5.7 ounce.

Last edited:
You're brave posting this. Someone is gonna see that AirGizmo and tell you it's not an "approved" part :rolleyes:

no comment on the proposed box, but we have very similar tastes in radios

attachment.php

Attachments

• panel photo May2012 sm.JPG
    panel photo May2012 sm.JPG
    91.3 KB · Views: 295
I'd like to start over on those but not in the cards.

For a short term and low cost solution... How about non slip shelf liner?

61pvsENe48L._SY355_.jpg

I'd like to build a decorative shell for my prosthetic hook with a deep polished clear on it. Would be pretty cool if it was removable and wear it for special occasions. Right now it gets beat up pretty bad so vinyl wraps only lasts so long and they suck to re-apply all the time.

Shiny carbon fabric
:D

I saw a number of Mooneys with those gizmos. I rejected them out of hand. No way do I want a handheld in my panel.

Why not just *not* put your stuff on the glareshield where it can fly around?

I saw a number of Mooneys with those gizmos. I rejected them out of hand. No way do I want a handheld in my panel.
good point, no way should something be firmly mounted. Far better to use some flaky suction cup and have it be a potential projectile.

I sincerely hope you never win an AOPA makeover airplane, after all, they have those gizmos.

If you don't know what it is, you may need an eye exam.