What to do ? shady employment

U

Unregistered

So, as a low hour pilot I feel lucky just have a job. Not only that I was able to find a job locally ! On top of all that a friend got me the job.

Soooo.... what I now know from working there. I know 100% certainty that my friend has pencil whipped the hours in his log book as well as given himself an endorsement to teach in an aircraft that the company has. The company lost their LOA from the FAA and recently got it back. All the paper work looks to be in order. The owner claimed the "awe shucks I didn't know" defense when the FAA shut him down for maintenance not being done and paper work issues. It was believable until recently when he asked me to look at something as a wet-ink A & P and it turns out he is pretty knowledgeable about aviation maintenance.

So I've been talking to the competitor's business about working there. The place where I'm currently at doesn't have a great reputation. I feel like talking to the other place like I'm cheating on my wife or something. I just want out but I also at the same time want the FAA to find out about this guy. I don't want to be a rat for one and two the guy did give me a break and three ! my friend recommended me for the job. So if I were to leave and then the FAA were to suddenly start looking around I think it would be pretty obvious.

ARRRGH ! what to do what to do ?

Just leave and go next door. You are not under oath to report things, but if you stay, eventually your signature will be somewhere that gets you a ration of crap.

:yeahthat:

Is someone's life in imminent danger?
May I humbly suggest that as a litmus test!

Years ago, I actually believed people appreciated those that do the right thing and help correct a wrong because it's wrong. Boy, was I wrong.

Likely, if the guy is slimey, things will catch up to him.