What makes a good IFR training aircraft?

fiveoboy01

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Dirty B
If you were buying an airplane and were not instrument rated, but planning on using it to do your instrument training, how would you want it equipped for said training? Of course mainly we are talking avionics, but anything else/other equipment in particular? What's the bare minimum, and what's ideal? I'm sure there's a difference.

This.....

Attachments

• v35panel.png
    v35panel.png
    3.2 MB · Views: 138
Lol!!! When I was a student it was two VOR's with swinging (windshield wiper) needles, one of which had a glide slope. The ADF had a manual movable compass card if you were lucky, otherwise it was fixed (never turned the movable anyway). If you were super lucky it had a DME.

God only knows what today's standards are..??

Last edited:
This is what I had. Worked great for me! The ADF was inop for the checkride.

12579_4.jpg

Bare minimum - 5 pack (VS not required) a com and a nav radio w/GS of some sort...and prolly a transponder.

Practical - 6 pack in std arraignment and two com and nav radios with at least one GS. If there isn't an IFR GPS then a DME is helpful and they are pretty cheap anymore. Gotta have a transponder too. An ADF is a good learning tool but not so useful anymore since so many NDBs are neglected (hey, can you guys flip the switch on the NDB?...said it more than once when training - ADF is gone from the plane now).

Nice to have if you're really gonna fly IFR is at least a single axis autopilot. Not needed for training but handy if yer single pilot on a clearance.

And the 'kota ended up with an Aspen and a 430w with a functioning two-axis autopilot...if yer gonna spend hours in the clag it sure is nice to monitor rather than hand fly...

Last edited: