What happens if you "Fail" a Medical Exam

JohnHendricks

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
JohnHendricks
Hello all,

I am a 45 y/o student pilot trying to understand the nature of the FAA medical exams. What happens if you go in thinking you're healthy, but find out you have some disqualifying issue?

For example, I tend to have white coat syndrome, and so my blood pressure, while completely normal at home, elevates fairly high at doctor's offices. If the examiner saw my bp was over the threshold, would I get denied at that point and have to go through a lengthy process of getting a special issuance? Would my denial follow me around?

I also stare at computer screens all day long for my normal day job, and feel it's probably not great for my vision. And while the brief check at my normal doctor's office has revealed no issues (at least that were told to me), what happens if I'm not up to par with an AME's evaluation?

All the research I've done about SODA's and special issuances seem to be for pretty blatant conditions like bipolar, cardiac valve replacement, missing a limb, etc...so I'm not sure if something relatively benign and normal for aging would be a huge ding on my record if I went in not knowing about it. Any guidance?

Thank you

Well, you start by not going in to the exam without knowing you’re going pass.

Generally speaking, if you’re healthy and have no alcohol, drug, criminal, or mental issues (as defined by the FAA), you will pass. But, you need to do your homework up front.

Second, you may want to schedule a consult with the AME, let them see the paper copy of your MedXpress app, but don’t give them the confirmation #.

If they say they can issue in the office, then give them the confirmation # and go live.

Once they take the form live, there isn’t really a path to go back, so that’s why you don’t give them the confirmation # until after the AME says they’ll be able to issue.