What air plane would you need to make this direct route?

midcap

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
midcap
I enjoy going to flight planner and messing around with different routes and such. So I plugged in this route (keep in mind, I am a noob).

KHUM direct to KEYW.

562 nm and right under 4 hours at 135 knots. A Comanche has the legs and speed for this on paper.

The long way around flying over land the whole way is 730nm and 5 hours.

Do people take single engine piston aircraft over water like that?

I'd imagine a life raft, EPIRB, food and water would be need to be on board in case you have to ditch.

Trips like this seem to be where a twin would come in handy.

What do you seasoned aviators think?

Some do, some don't. Raft, etc is a good plan but they need to be where you can reach them and get them out in a very short time. I, personally opted for the down the island chain when I flew to KMTH (Marathon, just up the chain from KEYW) in a 172. I didn't fly across Florida Bay, much less the Gulf of Mexico. But that's me.

John

I guess whats good about following the coast it that you can land on a beach if you need to emergency land.

Yeah, I'm sure you'd be fine, I wouldn't do it though.

KHUM KAAF KEYW something more like that looks good to me.

I mean for me to do that crossing, just to save 45 minutes, F' that noise, plus I have zero desire to sit in a plane that long, scenic along the coast, stretch and grab a bite and fuel at KAAF, head down the pretty coast again to your destination, seems like a no brainer.

A Comanche 250, with sux tanks would have plenty of range and about 3:45 min flight zero wind.

Less than an hour longer staying within glide range of the shore... just don't see the need to go direct.