Visiting San Francisco; SQL - Rental Flight?

Timmer

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Timmer
I am a relatively new pilot and have yet to fly out of anywhere but my home airport. Next weekend I'm traveling up to San Francisco to visit my sister who lives a few minutes away from SQL. I'd love to take her on a flight around SF area, so my question is if anyone has any locations or tips on renting a plane on a one off....

It looks like most of the outfits there require checkouts, initiation fees, monthly dues, along with rental fees. That makes one very expensive single rental flight.

Any helpful advice is welcome.

Not sure about SQL, but pretty much only way to avoid the rental checkouts is to use OpenAirplane.

There is an OpenAirplane site at SQL. There is another at Reid (San Jose).

Neither are cheap. Reid in general is pretty reasonable, but that OpenAirplane site isn't. The San Carlos site has some nice planes, but I've never rented for them due to their prices.

Get on the phone, as most of the local places get asked about vacation rentals all the time, and the fees may be substantially different. You may be able to take along an instructor for a "discovery flight," as an alternative, and get around most of the fees.

Last edited:
Not sure about SQL, but pretty much only way to avoid the rental checkouts is to use OpenAirplane.

True. I don't mind a checkout flight anyway as it's a good time to have someone local show you around the airspace, but it's just joining a club with all the fees just for a single rental triples the cost of that rental.

There may not be any way around it but I thought I'd check along with see if anyone has recommendations for rental places at SQL to rent from or avoid :)

If you are going to fly at SQL, you definitely want a checkout of sorts, if only for the local procedures.